meter down!!!!

Image
so what do you do when you are into an auto? but obviously i need to know, when you are travelling alone. if you have a co-passenger, you are sure to exchange few words with him\her. some have a look outside and some have look inside the mobile-phone. some may be on music and others may be on yak-yaking with someone on mobile-phone. with addition of smartphones, people now keep tweeting while on the move in an auto. you have reached the destiny, and it is end of your ride. you have to pay him now. that is when you realize, there is a hole in your pyjama.

Image
mumbai-kars have a long history of using auto-rickshaws for cutting distances. for my readers outside india, i am adding a pic of an auto-rickshaw #SelfPromotion. there has been a lot of hull-a-boobula around the auto meters overcharging or being speedy enough to burn a hole in your wallet. after a lot of tussle, finally the electronic fare-meters are mandated for any auto-rickshaw. mumbai-kars had a relief from being overcharged, but it was short-lived. the fares were spiked, not hiked. the minimum fares rose to 15 rupees from 12 rupees. for every 0.1 kms travelled, the fare was raised from 0.7 rupee to 1.0 rupee.

Image
but the question again is, what do you do while travelling alone in the auto? i have no answers coz i never travel alone in auto. yeah! being an mango-man, i prefer to travel in mass transport system or keep my feet on the run. refrain from using an auto, or rather from being cheated royally. a lot of people tag me as KANJOOS- the indian word for a miser. but little do i care about them? no ways. though as they say in the glamour world or in corporate world, COMPROMISE! yes, i do compromise on my idealogies when mum and dad are accompanying me. with a lot of abhorrence, i wave my left hand to an auto to pause. “Station chalogey, Bhaiyya?”. 4 out of 5 will run away without telling a NO. the 5th one would stop for a moment. with nil courteousness, he prefers to shake his head in YES, instead of breaking the tobaco-seal between the lips to speak out a YES. without losing an oppurtunity, i get into it and signal my mom n dad to also join me.

Image
the auto-rickshaw heads towards my destiny, and my mom’s starts her offering of prayers to the supernatural deities. the prayers are to safeguard us all and the auto-rickshaw from those rash bikers. yes, the same bikers who vrooomin at 60 kmph, when the prescribed limit is 40 kmph. dad is engaged looking out for anything spectacular or any changes outside. comes to me. me? me, a bean-bag-with-life, has my eyes only working and remaining body to be resting generously. i have my eyes fixed on something. my mom looks at me while still offering her prayers, and i look back at her. her lips mur-muring the offerings, silent enough to not to distract me. she realizes what am i upto. coz i have my eyes fixed on the auto-rickshaw’s faremeter. i have my own set of observations and hence prefer to keep away from the auto-rickshaws. the electronic meters are cheating as well sometimes, though lesser than the mechanical fare meters.

Image

today, i was in conversation with this mirchi laddoo of mine. our conversations are usually on e-mails, while at work. another good thing about our conversations, they cover everything. like a bollywood movie has everything- romance, action, thrill, melodrama, musical, or masala. and i had this below conversation with her. certainly, i have covered a small portion of this conversation. ย 

me:- ๐Ÿ˜ฆ baat nahi ho paati hai na jyada.. BTW USP ka website dekha?

mirchi laddoo:- Nahin..week end mein dekhungi.. Aapne meri website dekhi?????

me:- Renew ho gayi? Ab dekhta hun!

mirchi laddoo:- Kabka ๐Ÿ™‚ Going for another meet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

me:- Dekha ๐Ÿ™‚ am done with lunch!

mirchi laddoo:- ๐Ÿ™‚

me:- BTW when I went to Siddhivinayak this Sunday, I realized, Local Train ka fares are hiked for tickets. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

mirchi laddoo:- Yes ๐Ÿ™‚ Height is they are charging service charges for first class.. My monthly pass has now got a total hike of 105/- ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

me:- Mine pass of Thane to Ghatkopar was 95 ๐Ÿ™‚ now it is 115 ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

mirchi laddoo:-ย  ๐Ÿ˜ฎ , Phir bhi Auto se to cheap hai ๐Ÿ™‚ .

me:- Hehehe ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ anytime!!

mirchi laddoo:- When I joined x-x-x-x in 2006, Fixed Rick Fare from Station to Godrej Soaps Gate was 20/- now it is 35/-

me:- Oh! Back in 2007, when I joined x-x-x-x-x x-x-x-x-x-x, I didnโ€™t knew the auto fare from Pizza Hut (Hiranandani Gardens) to x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x Building.
Today in 2013, I still donโ€™t know the auto fare from Pizza Hut (Hiranandani Gardens) to
x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x Building. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

mirchi laddoo:- Vadde log!!!!

me:- oh no. I am still in the list of people who hate to travel in auto. ๐Ÿ™‚

mirchi laddoo:- ๐Ÿ™‚

me:- Electronic meters mein bhi chori hai. And the worst part is, they have introduced advance payment system with electronic meters. You pay first for 0.2 kms journey.

mirchi laddoo:- Matlab?

me:- As per the fare chart.
1.6 Kms > 15 rupees
1.8 kms > 18 rupees
2.0 kms > 20 rupees

An passenger would think, when the faremeter completes 2.0 kms, it should show 20 rupees.
In reality, when the faremeter completes 2.0 kms, it shows 21 rupees.
That 1 rupee is the fare for next hundred meters taken in advance.

So when the auto has completed 2.1 kms, it will show 22 rupees which is for the 2.2th kms!

Samjha?

mirchi laddoo:- ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

me:- Now if you give some more attention to the faremeter, you would notice this another defect.
I would be using an unusual unit for time โ€“ โ€œJIFFYโ€.
Since we frequently use the word โ€œJIFFYโ€, you already know how long is a JIFFY and how long are JIFFIES.

After completion of 1.4 kms, the meter shows 16 rupees. This means you are charged that rupee for the coming 1.5th kms. The rupee meter will still move forward to 17th rupee, even if the meter shows 1.5 kms. After a few JIFFIES, it would show 1.6 kms completed.

The time lag between the โ€œAddition of rupee for next 0.1th kmโ€ and the โ€œAddition of 0.1th kmโ€ plays an important role here.
Majority auto meters have a lag as high as 3 -4 JIFFIES. Only some auto meters have it low as 1-2 JIFFIES.

And after they have implemented electronic meters for all autos, I have experienced only one auto whose meter went actually right.
His meter use to show 1.5th Kms first and then the fare went to 16 rupees, almost after a JIFFY!

Dher saara gyaan mila na?
Ab jab bhi autos mein baithogey toh observe karna ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

(since there was a lambi-khamoshi from this mirchi laddoo, i had to write back.)

me:- Ki hoya? Chakkar aa gaye?

mirchi laddoo:- Meeting! Going for another one now.. aake padhungi ๐Ÿ™‚

me:- Oks oks !

mirchi laddoo:- Wow!! Autos mein travel nahin karne wale ko itna knowledge hai!!! *.*

me:- Means.. akele nahi karta hunโ€ฆ but agar mum n dad ho toh auto hi karna padta hai, ghar se station k liye ๐Ÿ™‚

mirchi laddoo:-ย  ๐Ÿ˜€ , Waise website ka feedback mangna padega?

me:- ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ …………………………………………………………..

Image
our conversation is still on while i am still drafting the blog. but that shouldn’t be the matter you need to know. ๐Ÿ™‚ aah! you are smart nuff to know what i want to convey to you via this blog.ย  no, no. i am not blowing my own horn of smartness. i know i am oversmart. but all i wanted to tell you is about my observations on electronic auto-faremeters.

next time you also get into an auto-rickshaw in mumbai, keep your own set of observations and share with me if possible.

6 thoughts on “meter down!!!!

    1. Amitji.. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ yeah, after a long time… just finished with shaadi biyaah and all ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ so now thinking to get back myself on track and share a lot of non-sensical stuffs on this page ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Sorry to be arriving late at your blog, I have been avoiding both local trains and autos. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Your obsession with autos and their meters is faultless.

    I have to admit that riding either of the two is a masochistic experience of the worst kind. Thank you for referring to my blog.

  2. I wonder if it the same in the taxies there,, last time i travelled in a cab felf that the meter was seepding faster than the car… anyways… enjoyed reading….

    1. yeah.. there is a high possiblity of that happening!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ be aware and keep frequenting to this page ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

